Link

Macaroni Springs : Indian style

My culinary journey started when I was 10 years old. I was the eldest one among three siblings. Growing up in a middle class Indian family I soon came to realise, how important it is for our families to teach girls how to cook. In order to fit in well in ‘Sasuraal’ (in laws house) a girl must know how to prepare lip-smacking delights. In India, most men (and also women) think cooking is women’s department and in some middle class families men in kitchen are still frowned upon. I was lucky, when 13 years later I realised this is not the situation in all families. My husband loves cooking and in my ‘Sasuraal’ (in laws house) all men cook and not only cook, they cook mouth-watering delicacies. 

When I was growing up, my mother used to had severe migraine attacks. Men never entered the kitchen, so I had to start learning to cook at the age of 10. Though I hated it at that time, it was about to become a boon for me in later years. By the time I was 21, I was the best cook next to my mom in my whole family. After completing studies, when I was working in Delhi, it were only my culinary skills which made me able to feed myself and my roommate whenever our maid was away. 

First from Right hand side is me. When i was in college 👯👭

10 more years later, I am married and mommy to a 5 year old. Each day is a roller-coaster ride in kitchen. New demands everyday, new inventions everyday. Bittu, my 5 year old son does not eat daal, rice, roti everyday and I am always in search of new ways to cook his favorite foods in a healthy way. I cook even in my dreams. He loves Macaroni and Pasta. Instead of preparing regular Mac and cheese, I wanted to cook something different, more in line with our regular Indian food. So, came up with this recipe:

Ingredients : 

  • Macaroni Springs.                 150 gm
  • One diced Onion.                   Medium sized
  • One diced Tomato.                Medium sized
  • Olive oil.                                   2 tsp
  • Pasta sauce.                             2 tbsp
  • Salt.                                            2 tbsp
  • A pinch of Red chilli powder
  • Dried Oregano flakes

Preparation : 

Put water to boil. Add salt to it. Then add Macaroni Springs. Let it boil. After Macaroni is cooked, drain water, but leave a little pasta water in it. Don’t drain completely.

Add Olive oil to a frying pan and sauté onion. Then add tomatoes, red chilli powder and pasta sauce. Add 2-3 tbsp of pasta water. Cook it while stirring. Once it reaches the desired consistency, add boiled Macaroni Springs. Mix well and cook on low heat for 3 minutes. Garnish with oregano and serve.

Thanks for reading 😍😘🍝

Leave a Reply

